For help and further information please see our BIFMO Search Guide.

Displaying 1 - 10 of 65

Adamson, Robert (1751–66)

His trade card [Heal; MMA; NY] states that he ‘Makes all sorts of Cabinet Looking Glasses and Mahogany Goods at the lowest Prices. NB. Funerals perform'd & Goods Appraised’. On 11 April 1766 supplied to Sir William Robinson of Newby Hall…

Alken, Sefferin (1744–83)

In 1744 his address was given as St James's, Westminster, and from 1760 he was at Dufour's Ct, Broad St, Golden Sq. Worked in both stone and wood and was active at Stourhead for Sir Richard Colt Hoare as early as 1744. In 1746 took app. named Lawrence (…

Audley, William jnr & John (1812–39)

Initially at Lad Lane but by 1822 had in addition premises in the High St. In the period 1818–22 the business is referred to as William Audley & Sons. In 1834–39 William Audley appears to have been the sole proprietor and was trading from addresses at…

Boson, John (1720–d. 1743)

When John Boson died in April 1743 he had become one of a select group of craftsmen closely connected with the designs of William Kent. Vertue said of Boson that he was ‘a man of great ingenuity and undertook great works in his way for the prime people of…

Bradburn(e), John (1750–d. 1781)

Bradburne held the Royal Warrant of ‘Upholsterer to his Majesty and Cabinet-Maker to the Great Wardrobe’ and was responsible for supplying considerable quantities of furniture and furnishings to the Royal Household between 1764 and 1777. His…

Bradshaw, William (1728–d. 1775)

Workshops at Frith St, 1728–32; the ‘Gr. House’, 27 Soho Sq. and 59–60 Greek St, 1732–47; 60 Greek St, 1748–51; no. 59, 1752–55; and Princes St, Hanover Sq., 1756–62. Recorded in Frith St, at premises previously occupied by Joshua Morris, in 1730 with the…

Brown, James (1747–96)

Traded initially at the sign of ‘The King's Arms’ on the south side of St Paul's Churchyard which had been previously used by Christopher Gibson. When numbering was introduced this became 29 St Paul's Churchyard. He was a member of the Joiners’ Co., and a…

Brown, John (1718–68)

Son of Richard Brown of Chipping Norton, Oxon., tallow chandler. App. to John James on 28 March 1718 and free of the Upholders’ Co. by servitude, 6 October 1725. About 1728 he took over the premises in St Paul's Churchyard at the sign of ‘The Walnut Tree…

Brown, W (1832–34)

Advertised in Liverpool Mercury, 18 May 1832, that he ‘has removed from 41 St. James Street to No. 6 Great George Street’. Sale of stock announced, same paper, 2 May 1834, ‘of Mr. W. Brown who is removing from the Premises [at Gt George St] comprising…

Burnett, Thomas (1744–74)

Recorded at ‘The King's Arms, against the New Church in the Strand’, 1747–66, and no. 61 Strand, 1760–74. [D] In partnership with Gilbert Burnett, 1747–74. Named as a Fellow of the Society for Arts and Manufactures, 1761–68. Marriage to Miss Jenny Parker…