For help and further information please see our BIFMO Search Guide.

Displaying 1 - 8 of 8

Bradburn(e), John (1750–d. 1781)

Bradburne held the Royal Warrant of ‘Upholsterer to his Majesty and Cabinet-Maker to the Great Wardrobe’ and was responsible for supplying considerable quantities of furniture and furnishings to the Royal Household between 1764 and 1777. His…

Elward, George & Marsh, William (1774–1840)

WILLIAM MARSH. The earliest record of his name that has appeared so far is an entry for insurance cover of £1,500 in 1774 [GL, Sun MS vol. 236, ref. 348625] where he is described as ‘upholder … near Charles Street in Mount…

Jensen, Gerrit (1680–d. 1715)

Gerrit Jensen, whose name occurs in the Lord Chamberlain's accounts spelt in fourteen different ways (sometimes anglicized as plain Garrard Johnson), has been called ‘the English Boulle’. The leading London cm in the reigns of William and Mary and Queen…

Linnell, William (b. c. 1703–d. 1763)

William Linnell was the son of a yeoman, John Linnell of Hemel Hempstead, Herts. He went to London in 1717 to serve his apprenticeship with Michael Savage, a member of the Joiners’ Co. In 1719 he was turned over to John Townshend with whom he completed…

Mayhew, John and Ince, William (1736–d. 1811)

and Ince, William (d. 1804), London, cm. The partnership of John Mayhew and William Ince (1758/59–1804) was one of the most significant, probably the…

Nickson, Samuel (1802–27)

Listed also at Commercial Buildings in 1816. Free 3 July 1802. Subscribed to Sheraton's Cabinet Dictionary, 1803. Developed an extensive business and in 1815 claimed to be employing workmen from Gillows, and Tatham & Co., London. In that…

Seddon, George (1753–1868)

The firm of Seddon was the largest furniture-making firm in London in the last quarter of the 18th century when it employed more people, held more extensive stocks and produced a wider-range of goods than any other furnituremaking business It remained of…

Walker, Richard (1771–1805)

Also listed as a looking-glass manufacturer in 1781 and as an appraiser and auctioneer in 1788–1802. At 122 Deangate, 1771–81, but from 1788–1808 at 16 St Mary's Gate. An advertisement of August 1771 suggests that by this date the business was already…